Despite being eliminated during the quarter finals of the third event of the 2008 King of the Groms that were held at Scottburgh on the KwaZulu-Natal coast, Mikey February had accumulated enough points in the three events that make up the series to earn himself the Crown yesterday.

With this victory, the young surfer from Kommetjie has secured himself a trip to the Quiksilver King of the Groms International event that will be taking place in France.

“It’s going to be great to surf against the internationals,” Mikey said. “It’s my chance of putting my name out there.”

Nicky Godfrey of Cape St Francis won the U20 Division Series title. His prize includes a return ticket to Hawaii. Said a stoked Nicky: “It’s been a really great series. We’ve had really good waves.”

Casey Grant won himself R5 000 in the U20’s final, and Dane Staples of St Francis Bay won the U16 Division final.

During the Virgin Mobile Expression Session, Diran Zakarian of Melkbosstrand won the R1000 for the Biggest Air. The Best Wave award and an MP3 player went to Chad Du Toit of Durban.

The Zigzag Blowing Up Award of R2000 and a replica hand-grenade trophy for the surfer who ‘blew up’ throughout the series was won by David Van Zyl of Durban.

Final Results:
Event three: Scottburgh

Premier Grom Division
1. Dane Staples (CStF)
2. Jacob Mellish (SWest)
3. Remi Peterson (JBay)
3. David Van Zyl (Dbn)

U20 Division
1. Casey Grant (Scott)
2. Klee Strachan (Wnr)
3. Chad Du Toit (Dbn)
3. Chris Leppan (Umh)

Virgin Mobile Expression Session:
Biggest Aerial Move – Diran Zakarian (Mbos)
Best Wave – Chad Du Toit (Dbn)

Zigzag Blowing Up Award:
David Van Zyl (Dbn)

2008 Quiksilver King Of The Groms Series:(Cape Town, Mossel Bay, Scottburgh)
U16 Division
1. Mikey February (Kom)
2. Dane Staples (CstF)
3. Devin Lane (Umh)
4. Jacob Mellish (Swest)
5. Beyrick De Vries (Umh)

U20 Division
1. Nicky Godfrey (CStF)
2. Klee Strachan (Wnr)
3. Casey Grant (Scott)
4. Brendan Gibbens (Kom)
5. Mikey February (Kom)