SA Names Team For ISA World Surfing Games

The South African team who will be competing in the 2009 International Surfing Association (ISA) World Surfing Games has been announced by the Surfing South Africa (SSA) Board of Directors.

The Games will take place in Playa Hermosa near San Jose in Costa Rica in August.

The 2009 South African Surfing Team consists of four men, two women, two male longboarders, three coaches and a manager. The surfers in the men’s team are Brandon Jackson and Damien Fahrenfort, who are both from Durban, Rudy Palmboom from Bluff, and 2008’s SA team captain, Ryan Payne from Cape St Francis. Llewellyn Whittaker from Mossel Bay is the non-travelling reserve.

The Women’s team members are East London chick surfers Rosanne Hodge and Nikita Robb. Tarryn Chudleigh of Kommetjie will be the non-travelling reserve.

The longboarders are South Africa’s current Longboard champion Justin Bing from Noordhoek, and his runner-up Michael Hill from Cape St Francis.

Mike Sheppard will be the team’s manager. Graham Hynes will be head coach, Ant Brodwicz will be deputy coach and Kevin Olsen will be the assistant/technical coach.

Cyril Nel from East London has been appointed by the ISA as one of two head judges for the event. Another Saffa, Sandile Mqadi, will be part of the international judging panel.