Jordy Smith Knocks Kelly Slater From No 1 Perch After J-Bay Win

Jordy Smith managed to become the first South African to win an ASP World Tour event since Shaun Tomson back in the ‘80s when he was crowned the Billabong Pro J-Bay 2010 champion at Jeffreys Bay on Sunday.

By accomplishing this amazing feat, during which he defeated Australia’s Adam Melling in the last round, the 22-year old also managed to secure the top spot on the ASP World Title Race Rankings, knocking the legendary Kelly Slater from his perch as the world’s number one surfer.

“This is the best day of my life,” Jordy said from the podium. “The crowd on the beach has been supporting me the last few days and hearing the cheers and the vuvuzelas just get me fired up to perform. It feels like they’re pushing me along. I couldn’t have done it without them.

“I knew the swell was dying and I had to take advantage of every wave that came through.” Referring to Adam Melling, he said: “[He] is such a dangerous surfer. He’s been in form all day and I knew that if he got the waves, he would get the scores. I went out there knowing I had to open up strong.”

Adam said: “The ocean didn’t cooperate with me in the Final so that’s a shame but I couldn’t be happier. We had amazing waves and to get the best result of my career is huge. I came into Jeffreys with a long road ahead if I were to make the mid-year cut-off, and now that I’m 19th, I feel like I have a bit of a buffer heading into Tahiti. I worked really hard to get here and I want to stay here.”

The next stop on the 2010 ASP World Tour is the Billabong Pro Tahiti from August 23 through September 3, 2010.

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Final Results:

1 – Jordy Smith (ZAF) 17.93
2 – Adam Melling (AUS) 10.00

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Semi-final Results:

SF 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 14.83 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 14.40
SF 2: Adam Melling (AUS) 14.00 def. Taj Burrow (AUS) 10.67

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Quarter-final Results:

QF 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 16.43 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 9.20
QF 2: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 12.17 def. Sean Holmes (ZAF) 11.83
QF 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) 11.00 def. Dane Reynolds (USA) 3.66
QF 4: Adam Melling (AUS) 16.43 def. Damien Hobgood (USA) 5.67

Current ASP World Title Race Top 5 (after South Africa):

1. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 28500 pts
2. Taj Burrow (AUS) 24750 pts
3. Kelly Slater (USA) 23500 pts
4. Dane Reynolds (USA) 20000 pts
5. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 19500 pts
6. Mick Fanning (AUS) 19250 pts
7. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 18750 pts
8. Bobby Martinez (USA) 16500 pts
9. Jadson Andre (BRA) 16000 pts
10. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 14750 pts

Billabong Pro Not Off To A Start

Renowned for its iconic waves, Jeffreys Bay is undisputedly considered to be the Mecca of South African surfing.

So it’s a bit ironic that small surf was the cause for a lay day being called at the Billabong Pro surfing championship. The event, the fifth of ten on the 2009 ASP World Tour, has been delayed until tomorrow morning – when conditions will be reassessed – due to this morning’s small two-to-three (one metre) waves.

According to Mike Parsons, Billabong Pro Contest Director, the swell models they’ve been tracking have moved a bit south, with improving swell models giving them an optimistic outlook that they’ll have bigger waves as early as tomorrow.

Yesterday, at the completion of the VonZipper Trials, local Devyn Matthews won his heat, earning himself a wildcard berth into the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay. Other South Africans who also received wildcards are Shaun Holmes and Ryan Payne.

Once the conditions improve, the first round match-ups look as follows:

Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Tim Boal (FRA), Michael Picon (FRA)

Heat 2: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Jay Thompson (AUS), Nathaniel Curran (USA)

Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS), Nic Muscroft (AUS)

Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Phillip MacDonald (AUS)

Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Dean Morrison (AUS), Marlon Lipke (DEU)

Heat 6: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Chris Ward (USA), TBA

Heat 7: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Dustin Barca (HAW), TBA

Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), TBA

Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS), Tim Reyes (USA), TBA

Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA), Dayyan Neve (AUS), TBA

Heat 11: Damien Hobgood (USA), Heitor Alves (BRA), Greg Emslie (ZAF)

Heat 12: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Chris Davidson (AUS), David Weare (ZAF)

Heat 13: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Aritz Aranburu (EUK), Michel Bourez (PYF)

Heat 14: Taylor Knox (USA), Jihad Khodr (BRA), Roy Powers (HAW)

Heat 15: Mick Campbell (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Ben Dunn (AUS)

Heat 16: Kieren Perrow (AUS), Dane Reynolds (USA), Drew Courtney (AUS)